Putting the blog on ice for a while

Just wanted to post a quick note to let everyone know that there won’t be any new posts on Orlando Music News for a while. I’ve got a couple of big projects going on at my day job (you know, the one that actually pays me money for my time and talents), some (positive, but time-consuming) personal stuff happening, and there’s a very strong likelihood that I’m going to be writing another book soon. All that, combined with the fact that the holidays are coming up … well, something has to give, and unfortunately, this blog is gonna be it.

Not shutting it down, mind you, just taking a break until the beginning of the year. And, until then, I’m going to take down the “Upcoming Concerts” and “Submit Your Show Info” pages because … well, because they won’t be updated.

Thanks to all those who have shown support – for both this blog, and for the Orlando music scene – over the last nine months, and hopefully, when the blog comes back, I’ll have figured out a way to make both of them even better.

– Jason

P.S. – If anyone wants to take over the blog for a while, I’d be more than open to it. Even if you just wanted to update the concerts section to keep the site fresh, that would be most appreciated. I just won’t have the time/mental space to do it.

P.P.S. – Not to put too fine a point on it, but this is what happens when you don’t support your local media/artists/creatives/musicians. In all honesty, had there been more feedback/engagement/donations from the people who are reading this blog, I would have felt a lot more compulsion to try to figure out a way to squeeze 39 hours worth of work into a 24 hour day. But hey, if you don’t give a shit about it, why should I?

2 responses to “Putting the blog on ice for a while

  1. OMN,

    This town just isn’t meant to be saved. Too many self-serving assholes that have nothing better to do than tell you about their new project that sounds like Beach House mixed with the Fleet Foxes (so basically My Morning Jacket minus the peanut butter pudding surprise, of course). Even most of the hacks… I mean writers around town have no interest in facilitating the success of fellow 407ers unless beers/drugs exchange hands. Then it’s called, ‘A melancholy conversion of sounds between beloved members of a forged unit of musical mastery…’ and no one wants to read that.

    I appreciated your blog/efforts.

    xoxo

    AP

  2. Hey Jason, just found your blog today. I have only lived in Orlando since April, but have played and loved music for a long time. I think you have two things going on here that prevent more interaction:

    First and foremost, most blog readers seem to be lazy and apathetic. They will gladly read you blog daily but contributing is a whole other beast. I did a post on my blog once asking my readers to contribute to a mix I was putting together. I had a ton of people read it, but not one single contribution. I even called out the people who just read the blog in the Google reader (which is also part of the problem) and still nothing. Had it been on Facebook, I probably would have had 100 entry’s. But I am not on FB and am happy with that. Blogs require people to think and contribute on a deeper level and a lot of lazy people attached to their Iphones don’t care to do that. Sad state of affairs. They are the same people that would rather be attached to their phones when they are at a bar instead of paying attention to the person they are at the bar with.

    Secondly, yes I agree to some point with the previous commenter that Orlando has a few downfalls in the music scene, I don’t think it is a lost cause. I moved here from Nashville, which is truely the definition of “self serving” town. The music scene there was complete garbage. This town has a lot of talented people in a lot of different mediums. The problem is that they become too apathetic and don’t want to think outside their own self serving agenda. I play music and want to be part of the Orlando music community because there is great opportunity here. Music is an art form, it isn’t about money or fame. It is about the art. I feel if I play a show I am hopefully giving something (albeit small) to the community and hopefully inspiring and energizing people. Knowing that a music lover such as yourself is supporting and enjoying the music that is from here makes me energized, etc. etc.

    I apologize for the long winded response, I originally started writing this because I was disappointed to see another victim of the Orlando apathy, but then went off on a tangent. I hope you can find time to write again, especially since I just found your site! But it will have to come from your love of the scene and love of the music because sadly there are far too few out there that will vocally support because they are too focused on themselves. I want Orlando to live up to all of it’s talent and potential but we can’t lose positive forces like yourself in the process if we hope to get there.

    ~Troy

Leave a Reply

