BAND OF THE WEEK: LARF

LARF (photo by Dan Tantrum/Tantrum Imagery)

Every week at Orlando Music News, the site highlights a local band. A good local band. This week, the good-time punk rock of LARF.

LARF plays Will’s Pub this Friday, June 24, with Wet Nurse, Odd Movers, and Flamingo Nosebleed.

Just the facts:

When formed:

LARF Originally formed sometimes in mid/late 2004 as a side project. I [Marcos Encinias] was playing drums in my old bands BTH and First Amendment Funeral at the time. My old best friend from back then Nick had just gotten a bass guitar so I decided to pick up a guitar for the first time and start a band with him. I ended up finding a love for writing songs and the band ended up meaning a lot more to me than I thought it would. After I met Daniel and recruited him for drums the band got way more serious and we took to where it is today.

Band members’ names & instruments:

  • Marcos Encinias – Guitar & Vocals
  • Daniel Cox – Drums & Vocals
  • Jake Smith – Bass & Vocals
  • Antony Garcia – Lead Guitar

Any band members currently/formerly in other projects?

Our first drummer Andy Short was my bass player for BTH who is currently broken up but we may do some reunion shows (shhhhh). Holly, our 2nd bass player is starting up a new band called the Areolas. Our first lead guitarist Trevor Boddy plays his solo act called ikaruga. Jake, Daniel, and Ant all currently play in a band called Knife Hits and Jake and Daniel also play together in No Qualms. I also play with Big City Bombers, The Caffiends, the Boyfriends and sometimes a side project called the Pop Ups.

Currently available releases:

Other than DIY demos that we have made and passed out over the years, our current main releases are:

  • Garage Will Live/365 (pretty much a double-album CD consisting of 27 originals)
  • Go in Goo (our brand-new 7-inch that just came out this Spring)

Website:

Facebook

 

Swamp Cabbage Records

Describe your sound:

Best way I can think to describe us is a rock ‘n’ roll pop/punk band in the spirit of bands like the Ramones and Screeching Weasel.

Five Questions:

1) What has been your most memorable show so far?

There have been a lot of special ones. Maybe the first time we opened up for Teenage Bottlerocket the first time they came to Orlando. Or maybe the time we opened up for Against Me! at the old Black Box Colletive. That was one of the biggest shows we opened for. Also, opening for Mikey Erg this past April was amazing because I got to hang out with him and put him up at my house. He even left his bottle of whiskey by mistake, which was a mistake, because it was consumed the next day. But even a lot of the smaller shows we have played have been special. Really, any good, fun show that had good energy in the house is memorable enough for me.

2) Which local band is your favorite one to play a show with?

I can’t pin it on just one because I love our local scene a lot. But bands we love to play with for sure are Teenage Softies, Wet Nurse, Lazy Boyzz, Odd Movers, and Snotty Kids, just to name a few.

3) What description gets used for your band that you would most like to correct people on? Why?

I don’t know. Most people that have seen or heard our music get it for the main part.

4) What’s your favorite thing about being an Orlando band? What’s your least favorite?

In the past two or three years, my favorite thing about being an Orlando-area band has been watching the local music community grow. I’ve been seeing a lot more people of all ages coming out and also participating in local shows by helping run the door or organizing benefits and such. Also, watching all the new, aspiring bands getting started and watching them as they grow and progress is exciting. LARF actually booked Odd Movers on their first show in March, I believe, and I remember them playing great to the point where if I didn’t know them, I wouldn’t even think it was their first show. I also love that with our pretty busy music community, there is usually always something going on. There are lots of shows in the week I can attend, even when I’m not playing. But also, that might be a weak point at times; after a few shows in a row, I get burned out sometimes and just need a night or two to myself away from the loud show environments which leads me to missing some really great, amazing shows that I will hear about the following days. But oh well, can’t make it to all of them!

5) Any big news to share?

We have our tour coming up this July, which we are really excited about. One show we can’t wait for on this tour is a benefit against breast cancer called Cancer is a Punk. We’ll be playing with some great bands such as Teenage Rehab, Be My Doppelganger, and the Dopamines, who I can’t wait to see and possibly have the chance to meet. We’re also working on a handful of songs to record a new album hopefully by the end of this year. Also, we’ll be planning a west coast tour for sometime in early/mid-2012 before we go back to the east coast. Follow us on Facebook to stay updated with our current shows and news and such. Also, for any merch, you can get it at SwampCabbageRecords.com.

Leave a Reply

