BAND OF THE WEEK: Maximino

Maximino

Every week at Orlando Music News, the site highlights a local band (or artist). A good local band (or artist). This week, the wonderful mixed bag of indie-flecked, soulful, electronic songwriter-y goodness that is Maximino (a.k.a. Gerald Perez).

Maximino plays at Will’s this Wednesday, May 18, with the Love Language, Loud Valley, and Young Brother (with whom Perez will also be playing bass).

Just the facts:

When formed:

I began songwriting on my own about two to three years ago.

Band members’ names & instruments:

As of late, I have been performing on my own with live looping of cello, synths, percussion, vocals, and guitar.

Any band members currently/formerly in other projects?

There have been quite a few players that have played in my project over the years.

When I first started out, Jaclyn Miller, David Levesque, currently Levek, and Steve Head, currently Dark Sea of Awareness, all helped me perform live.  I played classical guitar, Jaclyn and David sang and played percussion and Steve played electric guitar.

During that same time I was also playing bass for Steve Hedrick’s project called Riverman. I recruited the drummer, Erik Hallmark, for the project.  Seeing how Jaclyn, David, and Steve were involved in their own projects at the time, Erik and I began playing shows as a duo, with myself on electric guitar and vocals.

Erik then moved back home to Buffalo after a year or so of playing together, so I took somewhat of a brief hiatus on Maximino.  I fell into a creative and emotional slump when he left, but I still gigged with other artists around town. I met Andy Matchett one evening at Redlight Redlight, and he was looking for a bassist, so I joined up with the Minks for a while.

During that time, I reformed Maximino as a five-piece. Steve Head came back on guitar, Houston Eiland of Essance D‘Ame on drums, Eamon Ford on vocals/keys/guitar, Mike Cummins and Brian Holbrook traded bass.

But there was some discourse as to the direction, so I kind of decided to start from scratch. I got a loop pedal this past Christmas and I haven’t looked back.  Thanks, dad.

Currently available releases:

  • Bearegard EP/Two Weeks Till Valentine’s (early demos) (2009)
  • Blue Jay  (November 2010)
  • I currently have some newer tracks online, but I am in the process of a new untitled (at the moment) digital EP that should be out very soon, hopefully middle to end of May. I’ve been talking with Glowmobile about the release

Website:

Tumblr

Upcoming Shows:

June 9-11 – Various shows in Gainesville

Describe your sound:

Psychedelic soul that stems from orchestral minimalism and experimental folk.

OR

Thom Yorke and Andrew Bird’s baby, Juana Molina is the godmother.

Five Questions:

1) What has been your most memorable show so far?

Definitely the BBQ Bar show I did with Dark Sea a couple months back. We both had individual sets and then jammed for more than hour after. Definitely one of the more creative sets we’ve put on. It was also nice to see drunk downtown folk dance to our improvisations. If only they were at every show…

Total Bummer was tight, too.

2) Which local band is your favorite one to play a show with?

Dark Sea, The Howling Owls and Alias Punch are some of the locals who I’ve had played multiple shows with, and we always end up having great sets. And they are all great people and friends.

3) What description gets used for your band that you would most like to correct people on? Why?

I don’t think I have ever had to correct people with a description. It’s all relative perspective anyway and it’s fun to hear what others have to say about your sound. I did have someone comment that my live show reminded them of Tool… I guess that one is a little off.

4) What’s your favorite thing about being an Orlando band? What’s your least favorite?

Favorite thing would have to be the surprising variety and talent of the bands. From Yip-Yip to Telethon to Peter Baldwin, I could go on forever. We had Kaleigh Baker, enough said.

Worst thing is the lack of support and community.  We have great bands, GO WATCH THEM. It’s embarrassing. I think it’s safe to say the majority of us don’t see a dime after 90% of the shows we play.  We depend on support. Again, it’s embarrassing.

5) Any big news to share?

A five to six track (haven’t decided yet) EP coming out this month.  And of course the Love Language show!

Leave a Reply

