An apology and a promise

I’d like to apologize to all of this site’s readers for making Andy Matchett & the Minks the Band of the Week this week. Here’s why:

The primary goal of OrlandoMusicNews.com is to help bring together the many disparate elements of this city’s music scene, helping one group of people learn about another, who then learn about another, and so on and so on. Orlando is a big city, there are lots of good (and a few great) bands here. I want everyone to know about as much of the good stuff as I can.

To that end, the secondary goal is to highlight bands that people may not have heard of. Sure, maybe you have heard of them, and sure, maybe what they’re doing is old news to you, but how about all the other people who don’t check out the same shows you do? Or the people who don’t get out to see shows very much at all? It’s entirely too easy for music fans in this city to think that the bands they see and the folks they drink with are the only things that matter when it comes to Orlando’s cultural fabric, but the truth is, it’s everything taken in aggregate that defines what this city is.

All this means is that sometimes I’m gonna write about your favorite band. Some other times, I’m gonna write about a band that you positively loathe. But hopefully, there a few times a week where I’m writing about a band you really don’t know all that much about at all. And maybe, just maybe, even if you don’t like that band, maybe it broadens your perspective on exactly what is going on in this town.

Which brings me to Andy Matchett & the Minks. Love the band. Love the guy. Really love his hair. I couldn’t be more stoked about tonight’s show at House of Blues. I truly think Andy & the Minks were more than deserving of getting the nod as a Band of the Week here (although the true honor of said nod is still a debatable thing!), and I truly think that this show at House of Blues tonight is a really big deal, due to the totality of the lineup.

But had I the slightest inkling that you guys (meaning: this site’s readers) were basically gonna be swamped with coverage about the Minks and this show – cover story in the Weekly, feature in the Sentinel – I would have picked another band to feature this week. Not because Andy Matchett & the Minks don’t deserve the coverage, but just because I always want this site to help broaden the discussion, not just amplify some perceived conventional wisdom. I scheduled the Minks thing for this week because 1) the lineup for HOB is awesome,  and, 2) I was able to get the awesome Chris Garcia (CKG Photography) to shoot photos of the band for it. Otherwise, these guys would have been Band of the Week a few weeks ago, when I had originally slotted them in for that.

So, inside-baseball mea culpas aside, here’s my promise to the readers of OrlandoMusicNews.com: This will happen again. I’m sorry, but it will. Despite the slim pickings of news and features about local bands in the Weekly and the Sentinel, sometimes we are all gonna come up with the same idea at the same time, because sometimes, it’s a good idea.

I just hope that you guys will judge this site not on the few times that its coverage intersects with that of the two mainstream papers in town, but for the many more times that you learn something here that you wouldn’t have learned anywhere else. Because if I’m not doing that, I’m not doing my job.

Thanks for reading.

~ Jason

P.S. – For the record, there weren’t any  complaints and nobody (especially me) has questioned whether or not Andy Matchett & the Minks deserve the attention. This isn’t about the band; this is about this site trying to cover the waterfront (hey, visual pun!) for local music and always trying to shine a light on stuff that nobody else is.

6 responses to “An apology and a promise

  1. I can’t think of anyone more deserving! Three cheers for Andy Matchett and the Minks!

  2. Jason, nice of you to take the time to write this. I don’t think there was any need to apologize, unless you received some death threats or hate mail or something. Thanks for keeping up the good work!

  3. You will never make everyone happy, just follow your instincts.

  4. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. In this case, that means, don’t apologize if everyone’s happy. Don’t create drama where there is none. I think it’s time for Andy & the Minks to get this kind of recognition. So yes, covering them WAS a good idea. Sometimes the stars align, and you have no control over it. You gotta just go with your instincts.

  5. Jason, there are so many things I like about this article. You’ve really been amazing to us & I love that you’re not filtering out your true thoughts from this blog. Otherwise, it just becomes one endless list of happenings & promotions – where’s the relevancy in that?? Also, thanks for giving our press coverage this week MORE PRESS COVERAGE!! Hope to see you soon, ~a

Leave a Reply

